It Needs to be Better Now

Rick Mercer on bullying.

I was bullied in school. Why? Because I was a geek, nerd, or whatever you want to call it. I was small, I got good grades, I wasn’t part of the ‘in’ group, and I came with that indefinable tag of ‘victim’ attached.  Those of us who lacked self-confidence and self-defence skills were more likely to become victims. Sometimes the bullies themselves were bullied (shit rolling downhill) either by peers or their parents.

Bullying often continues into adulthood. Anyone who has been in a hostile workplace or been with an abusive partner can attest to that.

I have some reservations about the “It gets better” campaign, because sometimes it doesn’t.  Rick Mercer has it right. We need to make it better now.

This entry was posted in Mental Health and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It Needs to be Better Now

Leave a Reply

