Lock up Your Children

Chaz Bono, Sonny and Cher’s son is going to be on Dancing With the Stars. Chaz is known for his well publicized struggles with gender dysphoria and reassignment. One of the other contestants is Carson Kressley of “Queer Eye For the Straight Guy. Of course, their inclusion has raised hackles in the bigot community across the US. One Million Moms, an affiliate of the American Family Association, a Christian group that is well known for its advocacy against LBGT issues, is all over this.

Email ABC Network and let them know that we will not tolerate these subjects being forced into our homes. DWTS airs 8/7 central when children are awake and Christian families will not enhance the ratings by watching the show when it returns September 19 unless this issue is taken care of and these cast members are replaced.

Another well known figure, Dr. Keith Ablow, author and Fox News psychiatric expert has also spoken out against Chaz’s inclusion on the show.

The last thing vulnerable children and adolescents need, as they wrestle with the normal process of establishing their identities, is to watch a captive crowd in a studio audience applaud on cue for someone whose search for an identity culminated with the removal of her breasts, the injection of steroids and, perhaps one day soon, the fashioning of a make-shift phallus to replace her vagina.
It is a toxic and unnecessary byproduct of the tragic celebration of transgender surgery that millions of young people who do watch “Dancing with the Stars” will have to ponder this question: Maybe my problems really stem from the fact that I’m a girl inside a boy’s body (or a boy inside a girls body). Maybe I’m not a tomboy; I’m just a boy! Maybe I’m not just being bullied because I’m a sensitive, reflective young man interested in flowers, not football. Maybe I’m not just uncertain about my sexuality. Maybe I’m a girl! Maybe all this angst and suffering I’m feeling as I emerge into puberty and pass through it isn’t just because I’m changing, but because I should change completely—and have my breasts removed or my penis amputated!

This is how this professional believes issues like this should be handled, by hiding them. Don’t let your children know that some people are different than they are, they might actually grow up and not hold those cherished bigoted beliefs.

He goes on the say he would have done anything to treat Chaz in his struggles, using psychotherapy, medication, hypnosis, and spiritual advice, culminating with:

And if all that failed, and if Chaz Bono wanted either to kill herself or to undergo gender reassignment surgery, I would have taken that journey with her, too. I would have talked her parents through the hell of it. We would make the best of it.
Somehow, with enormous compassion and love and God’s help, we would get through it.

But I would feel no triumph in it, no sense of any heroic overcoming obstacles and righting the flesh in accordance with the soul. I would feel pathos. I would feel the limits of my attempts to truly heal Chaz Bono, and I would wish her well with a life that had veered, seemingly unavoidably, into a very dark place.

His ‘professional’ advice is very simple. “If you care about your kids, don’t let them watch “Dancing with the Stars” starring Chaz Bono”.

Some of us might treat this differently, if the topic came up, we might talk to our children about gender identity issues in an age appropriate manner. We might talk about friends and family members who are ‘different’ in some way. Or, we might just call Chaz Bono ‘he’ and there is no issue at all.

In my non-professional opinion, to protect your children, keep them away from people like Keith Ablow.

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lock up Your Children

  1. Judy says:

    Just maybe another child, or teen, or even adult, would see they aren’t the only person ever born with this problem and there is hope of becoming their real self.

  2. Pingback: Lock up Your Children | PEI Curmudgeon's Blog | Pink and Blue | Scoop.it

Leave a Reply

